Tags

,

Last fall I gathered many MANY poppy heads from Himself’s golf club. I don’t play, but I do walk around when he goes out after work for nine holes and I play close attention to his every shot take note of where the best wildflowers lurk so I can collect seed to see if they will grow in my garden. I’ve always wanted to try the red and purple poppies that grow along that beautiful links course in a spot where silly visitors often hit their balls and can’t find them again on the back nine.

IMG_1767

Google ‘free seed packet templates’ and you are spoiled for choice. This design is my go-to when I want to pass along my excess seed to fellow gardeners. I’ve even been known to color in the little flower designs at the corners.

I went a little overboard last fall: I had enough poppy seeds for eight packets of two tablespoons each. Must have a think on who would like some, as well as what to do with hundreds of dried poppy seed heads.

